My Home is Haunted

My cats are up hissing in the dark…
Groaning at apparently nothing…
The static that I feel in my stomach…
Tells me that it’s probably something…

Occasionally for the past three years…
I wake up at two in the morning…
The cats are the only thing to witness…
The ghostly sounds from the flooring…

Even after I wake up to investigate…
The cats refuse to stand down…
That’s when I got up out of bed…
And joined my cats on the ground…

Normally they will fight for attention…
Tonight they don’t seem to care…
Their attention is focused off in the dark…
Refusing to break their eerie stare…

As I write this I’m falling back asleep…
The knot in my stomach has gone…
The cats have started to settle back in…
A sign that nothing is wrong…

I don’t know why this makes me sick…
My stomach will usually churn…
It’s a mystery that it occurs at two…
Or why it always returns…

One of these nights im going to set up a camera, the cats are what make me think its more than a coincidence…

peace – chriscondello

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

2 thoughts on “My Home is Haunted

  1. addercatter says:

    Cats are extremely intelligent and Should never be underestimated- Kat

    Like

  2. petrujviljoen says:

    Cats are very sensitive animals. Most animals are. I wonder if you had a cow in your room whether it would react, but a horse would. And an elephant. Trust the cats.

    Like

Comments are closed.