Turning Heads

A thank you poem directed to the WCDC, TreeVitalize Pittsburgh, the Borough of Wilkinsburg, and the Nine Mile Run Watershed Association… Thank you for all of the great trees you planted in our borough this past summer… 500 of them to be more exact… It is greatly appreciated… And will not be forgotten…

SquirrelI am a man who travels by bike…
Exploring the hood on two feet…
It used to be a struggle to find…
Biodiversity on my street…

I rode my bike into a pole…
It had nothing to do with my tread…
It had to do with a beautiful tree…
That’s why I turned my head…

When I ride, I feel neighborhood pride…
The birds have a place to live…
Today I praise the local groups…
That make it their business to give…

So let me thank you for the gardens…
Thank you for the trees…
Thank you for what you do…
It never fails to please…

Please don’t give up on the hood…
We can’t do this alone…
We need good groups to invest…
In the places we call home…

peace – chriscondello

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

