Big Budget Bully – 1984

11x14" - Acrylic on Canvas

11×14″ – Acrylic on Canvas

I can’t do this shit anymore…
Life was easier on drugs…
Now I perpetually handle…
Finger pointing thugs…

My mental state is stronger…
Than it has been in years…
It doesn’t mean a thing…
It doesn’t lower fears…

A big budget bully…
Pokes me through a fence…
Calling me a loser…
Telling me there’s no chance…

Digging out my heart…
With your silver spoon…
Don’t you get your acting…
Like a finger waving goon…

When you are down…
People want to bring you up…
But when your up…
People will bring you down…

Every day is a fight…
That no one expects you to win…
Bully’s often like to point out…
All your past sin…

I will keep my head up… And my ass out of trouble… That is all I can do…

peace – chriscondello

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

7 thoughts on “Big Budget Bully – 1984

  1. petrujviljoen says:

    Fatty? 🙂

    She seems one of the Ancient Ones. A symbol/archetype. She features often. A symbol for you. (fact) – if not fat.

    The horison line (where earth and sky meet) is in the right place. i.e. never put it at exactly halfway of your picture plane. Either above or below. How much is your choice.

    Brushwork a bit of an issue. When things recede into the distance (horison line) brush marks should be smaller and colour should fade. Mixing a bit of pink into the green at the earth side of things should solve it. Shorter brushstrokes and lighter colours as things recede; longer, broader and clearer colours as things come forward. The green in the sky reflecting the earth works well. And there are purples on the earth as in the sky and so on.

    She seems pasted onto the painting and not part of it. Why: she hasn’t assumed any of the colours of the background (sky and earth) even if there are some of her colour in the background; the background is rendered naturalistically while she has the flatness of a folk painting.

    You’ve put her in a bubble, divorced from her surroundings. (Confirming the idea that she may be a diety of sort – is that what you meant?) The sharp line at the bottom of her dress and shoes separates her from the ground she is sitting on as effectively as the bubble does. Her colours are rendered almost entirely flat while the sky and ground is very textured. Perhaps just a tinge of her surroundings within her dress?

    Her quiet serenity – Mother Nature? Her eyes are closed – meditating? Praying? Blessing the earth? Protecting it? Probably all of those things.

    Also consider where the light is from? An exercise: take a torch, shine it on all sides of an object and see what happens: i.e. from above, from the side, the front … and so on.

    Don’t, please don’t see this as a negative judgment of the artwork. The whole atmosphere is of abundant spirituality.

    Like

    • C.Condello says:

      Petru – I love you… That is exactly why I have been posting my paintings… To get honest feedback from people who are worlds better than me… Seriously… Thank you… That helps so much…

      Like

      • petrujviljoen says:

        I’m relieved. I also posted it on your blog so other people an feedback too and it’s not just me you’re listening to. I posted a portrait, way over the line by a painter Judith Mason that illustrates the horison line and the integration of the figure into the background. Maybe a bit much but one kind of gets the idea.

        Don’t let the bad guys get us down.

        Like

  2. petrujviljoen says:

    Also, may I post comment on your painting on here or would you prefer I sent an email?

    Like

  3. petrujviljoen says:

    Jeez! You keep doing this! Could’ve been me you talked about in your post. Just been through hell with one of them. Had to work hard to pick myself up from the floor. Thank God for the journey into Buddhism I undertook – am able to reach a level of detachment, even if it took a few days this time. It’s other people’s shit – walking away and holding oneself is the right thing to do. (I think). I’ve fought (and won) when I had to as well.

    Like

Comments are closed.