First Photos Of June

MissDaisy

“Cinnamon Spice” – © chriscondello 2013 – Osteospermum – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – I spend a lot of time talking about how dangerous of a neighborhood Wilkinsburg can be… I talk about gunshots… And abandoned houses… My intentions are not to glorify violence… Or blight… But to spread awareness… To show you that there is beauty in all things…

MissDaisy2

“Zion” – © chriscondello 2013 – Osteospermum – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – Would you believe me if I told you that this stunning flower was growing in my front yard… Directly across the street from three abandoned houses… The funny thing is… Across the street from my house… The abandoned houses aren’t the houses with the messed up yard…

MissDaisy3

“Sunset” – © chriscondello 2013 – Osteospermum – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – My girlfriend happens to be fond of Daisies… In Africa… These are called African Daisy… South African Daisy… Cape Daisy… And Blue-Eyed Daisy… Did I miss any Petru?..

Thyme

“Tea Thyme” – © chriscondello 2013 – English Thyme – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – I’m kind of an herb nut… Sage being my favorite… Well actually Basil… Then Sage… Then Thyme… I grow more varieties than I can count… But English Thyme is probably my favorite…

PalePink

“A Place To Climb” – © chriscondello 2013 – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – When we moved into our apartment here on Whitney Avenue… There was very little in our yard… But this rose was clinging on for dear life… After two intensive years of plant magic… I have managed to bring it back… Blooming fuller and more profusely than last year…

BitterRoot

“Bitter Root” – © chriscondello 2013 – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – Lewisia… As the plant was eaten by Meriwether Lewis during the Lewis and Clark Expedition… You see… I can show off… While teaching you something… Yay for me…

Yarrow

“Rosy Red” – © chriscondello 2013 – Achillea millefolium – Yarrow – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – One of my better abandoned house finds… Just took a small piece… And now I have more than I know what to do with…

Abulotion2

“Apricot Sunshine” – © chriscondello 2013 – Abutilon – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – A new one for me this year… I have no idea what to expect… I will keep you posted as always…

plant petunias and question everything – chriscondello

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

4 thoughts on “First Photos Of June

  1. acondello says:

    Beautiful pictures. Can I have a start of yarrow?

    Like

  2. Cathy says:

    I really love that Abutilon colour! (I grow them too!)

    Like

  3. SimplySage says:

    Absolutely stellar post. Your touch to transform beauty from weeds is amazing. This one was truly inspiring. I have the African daisy, or whatever you want to call it. I’m amazed it keeps returning.
    Unfortunately, I can’t grow petunias. My specialties are hydrangea, roses, lilies, mums, ferns, impatiens, and ice plants (delosperma cooperi).
    I keep trying as I moved to a new zone.
    Keep up the good work.

    Like

  4. Rosie says:

    I really enjoy your photos. Thank you for sharing them.

    Like

Comments are closed.