A Plant A Day Till Spring – Day 6 – Epimedium

Epimedium

“Epimedium x rubrum” – Spring 2013 – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – Walking through the neighborhood a few years back I came across this plant… I complimented the woman working in the garden and got to talking… She ended up digging a small piece out for me to take home… This was 6 or 7 years ago… Yet I still treasure it…

“A Plant a Day till Spring” will highlight one plant a day, starting on the winter solstice (December 21, 2013)… And ending on the vernal equinox (March 20, 2014)… If all goes to plan I will be starting with old Snowdrop photos from 2013… And ending with new photos of Snowdrops in 2014…

Epimedium… Or the common name I prefer… Horny Goat Weed… Are herbaceous perennials that grow from underground rhizomes… Most are evergreen… But a few are deciduous… There are about 50 species the majority of which are native to China… They have spider-like flowers in early spring… Extracts of some varieties are believed to be aphrodisiacs… Hence the common name…

Epimediums are extremely easy to propagate through division… Although it can be done in the spring… I find it best to divide after the plant has finished blooming in the summer… As long as you do it early enough to allow for the roots to recover before the ground freezes… You will be fine…

Epimediums are dwellers of the forest floor… As a result they are very tolerant of dry shade… This is because the main period of flowering and growth occurs before the trees leaf out… Once the trees are wearing their leaves… The plant stops growing… It will stay the same size till the next spring… For best results the previous years foliage should be removed before flowering…

plant petunias and question everything – chriscondello

New To writing and never had to site sources before… These “Plant a Day Till Spring” posts are simply intended to kill time until spring… My source is Wikipedia.org… The photography is all my own… And I am adding my own information… But much of this is just related from the web…

This website and all of the information presented within is provided free by the author… Me… It is my sole opinion and is not representative of anyone other than myself… Although this website is free… I sell prints of my photography here – www.society6.com/chriscondello – or you can contact me directly with questions at – c.condello@hotmail.com – Although it isn’t a requirement… It helps…

Remember to tip… My Bitcoin digital wallet address is – 1JsKwa3vYgy4LZjNk4YmPEHFJNjPt2wDJj

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

6 thoughts on “A Plant A Day Till Spring – Day 6 – Epimedium

  1. sueturner31 says:

    fabulous photo…keep it up…

    Like

  2. narf77 says:

    I don’t seem to be able to get any to survive here on Serendipity Farm. Most probably the chooks scratching up the area where I plant them for dust baths. Things have to be pretty tough to survive here. I might just have to rethink where I can plant them so that they get the best chance to survive. Cheers for the share 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.