A Plant A Day Till Spring – Day 46 – Thyme

Thyme

“English Thyme” – Summer 2013 – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA

“A Plant a Day till Spring” will highlight one plant a day, starting on the winter solstice (December 21, 2013)… And ending on the vernal equinox (March 20, 2014)… If all goes to plan I will be starting with old Snowdrop photos from 2013… And ending with new photos of Snowdrops in 2014…

There is just something about Thyme that I really like… Right now I grow around 15 different varieties… Thyme reminds me of something you would see growing in the desert… Short and scrubby… Thin stems like wire… The English varieties have Sedum like leaves and white flowers… The French is identical except with pink flowers… I planted the two varieties together on accident… They flower consecutively… First the pink… And then the white…

My girlfriend is quite fond of the citrus varieties… We have a large patch of lemon thyme growing along our walkway… I learned something from this patch… Cats love Lemon Thyme… They like to paw it… Sniff it… I often catch a particular neighborhood cat sleeping in it… And normally I can scare the cats out of my garden when they are in it… But they will hold their ground when they are in this plant… The only other time I ever experienced similar behavior with the neighborhood cats was the great “catnip” incident of 2011… I don’t know what I was even thinking…

One of the rarer varieties I grow… One that I am quite proud to own as it was a gift from the Western PA herb ladies… PA Dutch Tea Thyme… A very slow grower… I have only made tea with the fresh leaves… It was refreshing… Didn’t taste like what I was expecting… One thing is for sure… It won’t be replacing my coffee anytime soon… Now if only I can get it to grow faster… I may pay more attention to it this year than I normally do…

As far as growing Thyme is concerned… Anybody can do it… It requires very little… It requires no water after the plant has been established and has resumed normal growth… The only thing I suggest is a bit of regular pruning to keep the plant looking fresh and full… Thyme grows from a center point… Over time the middle of the plant will start to be nothing more than brown stems… I have no fear when it comes to pruning Thyme… Just get right in there and tear it up… Cut branches back and be brutal… In my own personal experience… Thyme wakes up a bit after a disturbance…

And the smell of pruning an aromatic herb makes the entire process worthwhile…

plant petunias and question everything – chriscondello

If you want some science – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thyme

These “Plant a Day Till Spring” posts are simply intended to kill time until spring when I start writing more… My source (where applicable) is Wikipedia.org… The photography is all my own… And I am adding my own information…

This website and all of the information presented within is provided free by the author… Me… It is my sole opinion and is not representative of anyone other than myself… Although this website is free… I sell prints of my photography here – www.society6.com/chriscondello – or you can contact me directly with questions at – c.condello@hotmail.com – Although it isn’t a requirement… It helps…

Remember to tip… My Bitcoin digital wallet address is – 1JsKwa3vYgy4LZjNk4YmPEHFJNjPt2wDJj

Get your own wallet at CoinBase.com

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

One thought on “A Plant A Day Till Spring – Day 46 – Thyme

  1. Timo Garden says:

    We drink lots of (weak) thyme tea!

    Like

Comments are closed.