A Plant A Day Till Spring – Day 64 – Cuckoo Flower

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Cuckoo on Ice” – Whitney Avenue/Hamnett Way – Wilkinsburg, PA

“A Plant a Day till Spring” will highlight one plant a day, starting on the winter solstice (December 21, 2013)… And ending on the vernal equinox (March 20, 2014)… If all goes to plan I will be starting with old Snowdrop photos from 2013… And ending with new photos of Snowdrops in 2014…

Cardamine pratensis… My arch nemesis… I swear to god I have it growing out of my ass… Say what you want about this little guy… I hate it…

The seeds of the “Cuckoo Flower” germinate in the fall… They then quickly establish before the first freeze… CF will then go dormant and live quietly under the snow waiting for an opportunity to awaken… When the spring thaw occurs this plant comes to life… It is a quick grower… Often flowering with the spring Daffodils… After flowering the seeds form… and the cycle repeats…

Although CF is considered a good weed in some circles due to it being thought of as an early season pollen source… I personally consider it an invasive… The seeds are like little rockets… When disturbed they shoot 20′ away from the plant… After a day pulling CF it is not uncommon to find seeds all through your hair… Flowering can occur on any size plant… So don’t think you can just pull the large ones and leave the small ones for another day… By the time you return they will have already set seed…

As annoying as this plant is I have a few tricks to aid in removal… I often use a cheap leaf rake… I have tried stiffer rakes but find they dig too deep… CF only needs lightly pulled because the roots are very shallow… A cheap garden rake run over a patch a few times will typically clear 90%… The rest can then be easily pulled…

Cuckoo Flower is edible… The leaves have a peppery taste… I think the leaves that have been under ice all winter taste better than the summer leaves… They tend to taste a little sweeter… Just my opinion…

plant petunias and question everything – chriscondello

If you want some science –http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cardamine_pratensis

These “Plant a Day Till Spring” posts are simply intended to kill time until spring when I start writing more… My source (where applicable) is Wikipedia.org… The photography is all my own… And I am adding my own information…

This website and all of the information presented within is provided free by the author… Me… It is my sole opinion and is not representative of anyone other than myself… You can contact me directly with questions at – c.condello@hotmail.com

Remember to tip… My Bitcoin digital wallet address is… 1JsKwa3vYgy4LZjNk4YmPEHFJNjPt2wDJj

Get your own wallet at CoinBase.com

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

2 thoughts on “A Plant A Day Till Spring – Day 64 – Cuckoo Flower

  1. John Hric says:

    I do love the way plants melt a hole into the ice pack.

    Like

  2. I never knew what this weed was called until now. Thank you for another good post!

    Like

Comments are closed.