72 Hours Of Summer – Solstice

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Ditch lily” – © chriscondello 2013 – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – A Pittsburgh Summer staple… Tolerant of all conditions including extreme toxicity levels and extreme drought… This particular specimen I planted in front of my abandoned house garden across the street…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Nana’s Heliopsis” – © chriscondello 2013 – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – I like the bricks… The textures of the concrete… Honestly… I like everything about this photograph… This is a garden I installed two years ago in front of Nana’s house… This year I am hoping to expand this beds depth by two feet… All I need is to get my hands on some more plants…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Picasso Petunia” – © chriscondello 2013 – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – I’m pretty sure if you regularly read my blog then you will already be familiar with my Petunia obsession… This is a “Picasso” Supertunia… Smack dab in the middle of my front door herb garden… Also photographed… Golden Pineapple Sage… Black and Blue Sage… Purple Basil and a Marigold… Herbs and annuals were made for each other…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“White Russian” – © chriscondello 2013 – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – Same garden as the photograph above… Believe it or not… But your annual gardens can be designed with permaculture in mind… It is important to remember that ALL plants have relationships with each other… Not just perennial… Native plants…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Comfrey Over Stretch” – © chriscondello 2013 – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – I wish this Comfrey could do to this house what it does to the soil it grows in… But that would be a stretch… For the time being… I will just have to settle on helping the soil around the house… At least until I can grow a bigger Comfrey plant…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Looking For a Home” – © chriscondello 2013 – Rebecca Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – This is a beautiful Japanese Stewartia purchased last week… It will be planted this week… But for now… We will just have to enjoy this photo of the first bloom of the year…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Marigold Message” – © chriscondello 2013 – Whitney Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – Marigolds can handle extreme drought… But a little bit of mulch will make them flourish… This particular garden does not get watered…. Ever… I have had to choose “BombProof” plants… Which is the subject of my next Practical Permaculture post… Bomb Proof Plants…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Farm Flag” – © chriscondello 2013 – The Garden Table – Rebecca Avenue – Wilkinsburg, PA – Leeks really have an incredible flower… This one is not quite open… But oh so close… This could be my garden flag…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Queen Anne Photobomb” – © chriscondello 2013 – Frick Park – Pittsburgh, PA – I was taking photographs of Queen Anne’s Lace yesterday… I was sitting in a field… Completely surrounded in waist-high flowers… Bees and insects were swarming around me… I’m not surprised I captured a photo of a wasp coming in for a landing…

plant petunias and question everything – chriscondello

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

3 thoughts on “72 Hours Of Summer – Solstice

  1. evolution says:

    Beautiful pictures, and thank you for the permie tips!

    Like

  2. gem says:

    Can’t wait to read about bullet proof plants!

    Like

  3. Melissa says:

    In the first picture, it looks like someone has painted the boards over the windows and doors of the abandoned home. As I looked at it, it made me thing the owner had hung some local art on his wall, then I read that it was in front of an abandoned home. It looks rather nice considering the circumstances.

    Like

Comments are closed.