Simply Shady Alleys

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Different Perspective” – © chriscondello 2013 – Tennis Way – Wilkinsburg, PA – So I was photographing the aged driveway… The plastic objects were already in the photo… Just… In the background… So I picked them up… Cleaned them off… And placed them in the photo…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Monarda” – © chriscondello 2013 – Hamnett Place Community Garden – Wagner Way – Wilkinsburg, PA – Not exactly a shady alley anymore… But at one time… Now this alley is home to a community garden… Bee balm is one of my favorite flowers… Made for hummingbirds and bees… Planted by you and me…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Bad Contractor” – © chriscondello 2013 – Wagner Way – Wilkinsburg, PA – This house is directly up against the alley… This door may have been used for deliveries… Or the house was built before the alley… Either way… This door could make for a great practical joke…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Chicory” – © chriscondello 2013 – Tennis Way – Wilkinsburg, PA – Used as a coffee substitute around the world in poorer areas… Gained much of its popularity during times of economic crisis such as the Great Depression and World War II… The roots are baked,… Ground… And used like normal coffee…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Singled Out” – © chriscondello 2013 – Tennis Way – Wilkinsburg, PA – Where do you think this brick went?.. Trust me… They don’t just pop out of the street… A driveway nearby was at one time paved in red dog… A by-product of steel production… The slag has bled out of the driveway… And now occupies the spaces between the yellow bricks…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Relic – Gates of…” – © chriscondello 2013 – Tennis Way – Wilkinsburg, PA – Tennis Way is lined with the ruins of now abandoned garages… Only a select few are used… I wonder if this door looked as nice as it does now when it was newly built… I want to take this garage door… And hang it on my wall… Urban Sheik…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Accidental Art” – © chriscondello 2013 – Wagner Way – Wilkinsburg, PA – I’m guessing these bricks were either misplaced… Or destroyed upon removal… So of course… They replaced them with bricks of a different color… I wonder if they knew I would come along some day… And freak out over the accidental beauty created in the back of this almost forgotten alley… Seriously… In retrospect… I probably look like a complete freak when I’m photographing an alley…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Past and Present” – © chriscondello 2013 – Tennis Way – Wilkinsburg, PA – One of these garages happened to be open… And I happened to peak inside… I wonder if the masons that do this type of work see it as art as well… Probably not… I guess that’s my job… To come along later… And try to look at life in a different light… What one person might see as a hack job… I come along… And see it as art… Though… I might have added a few red bricks for contrast…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Perfectly Broken” – © chriscondello 2013 – Tennis Way – Wilkinsburg, PA – As I was working my way down the alley… I came upon a woman talking to her contractor… They were both talking about the process involved in replacing her patio… I walked up to the two of them… And asked if I could take a photo of her patio… She looked puzzled… So I told her I thought it was perfect… They laughed… I snapped a few photos… And went on my merry way… Again… They must think I’m crazy…

plant petunias and question everything – chriscondello

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

5 thoughts on “Simply Shady Alleys

  1. […] Chris Condello  (I love his tag — plant petunias and question everything!) […]

    Like

  2. tony Condello says:

    impressive

    Like

  3. Melissa says:

    their is joy in ‘crazy’. A farmer would look at a moss and lichen covered fence as needing to be replaced or fixed, the crazy of us see the beauty of nature reclaiming a foot hold. You are not crazy, just touched, and in a very good way! Thank you for the pictures.

    Like

  4. Sure do miss the alleys…and the history….
    Can we do bee balm in Florida????
    Love, hugs and prayers…ME and the Boss

    Like

    • C.Condello says:

      You can… But a word of caution for you… Bee balm can be a big bully… Especially in the southeastern United States… I do not believe it is currently listed as in invasive in Florida… But I have seen it get 6 – 7 feet tall here in Pittsburgh… When it inevitably falls over it will root… I could see this being incredibly invasive if not killed off in winter…

      I lived in boca raton for a year… The plants I experienced in Florida still affect my gardening today…

      Like

Comments are closed.